Holiday Cheer or Holiday Depression..?

As some of you may or may not know, I am but a poor college graduate that moved cross country relatively recently. With the recent holidays, this has become even more blatantly clear. So did I go home Thanksgiving? No. Because I am Chinese and we think Turkey is too dry. Alright, well I should have gone home for Christmas, right? No. Because we are kinda Buddhist and for the better part of my conscious life, I have received cash as a Christmas present.  But all this aside, I love the Christmas Spirit. Typically grouchy folks are uncharacteristically nice, and it’s one less day I have to go in to work 🙂

Being thousands of miles away from home, I had no idea what I was going to do.  Its my first Christmas without my familY!!?! Does that make me sound like a baby? Anyway, I was sad… But today, I came home from a bomb diggity dinner with good friends, good food and good booze. At home, I would just get good food. lets be real, I’m not friends with my family. …im awkward.

So I guess what I am trying to say in my slightly drunken stupor and what I came to realize tonight, while holidays like Christmas might be built on tradition and what not, as long as with your with ones you love new traditions can be made and its not so bad.

A throw back.

Happy Holidays

x.gracenotkelly

Leave a Reply

